AMD Radeon RX 400 series naming scheme explained

Published: Jun 30th 2016, 12:58 GMT

AMD has finally shed more light on its Radeon RX 400 series naming system.

AMD Radeon RX 4XX and Radeon 4XX

AMD Radeon RX 400 series

Let’s start with the RX. There are two subseries in Radeon 400 stack, the RX 400 and 400. The RX parts will offer >1.5 TFLOps performance and at least 100 GB/s of memory bandwidth. Those cards that do not offer such performance will not use the RX prefix.

AMD confirmed they will be using XX5 revisions, which basically means we might be seeing faster variants released after time, when yields are better, leakage was minimized, or AMD simply decided to release higher-clocked version. A good example would be Radeon HD 7970 and 7970 GHz Edition (being 2nd revision). Hopefully this will also mean less rebrands.

AMD differentiates 9 tiers which are gathered into 5 groups. Interestingly Tier 6 (46X cards) might use RX prefix or not. I was hoping we could at least get rid of the tier mixing, but this confirms there might be RX 460 and non-RX 460.

Of course our attention was quickly put on Tier 9. According to AMD description, Radeon RX 490 and RX 495 cards would be designed for 4K resolution with memory bus exceeding 256-bits. So if the rumors about Vega 10 being used for Radeon RX 490 series are true, then we at least know it’s designed for 4K.

The rest is self explanatory. I made this chart to show you all possible variants of Radeon 400 series, and which tier they belong to.

AMD Radeon 400 Series
 SeriesTIERModel CodenameRevision
Radeon RX 4XXTIER 9
>256-bit / 4K
AMD Radeon RX 4952nd Revision
AMD Radeon RX 4901st Revision
256-bit / 1440p
AMD Radeon RX 4852nd Revision
AMD Radeon RX 4801st Revision
256-bit / 1440p
AMD Radeon RX 4752nd Revision
AMD Radeon RX 4701st Revision
128-bit / 1080p
AMD Radeon RX 4652nd Revision
AMD Radeon RX 4601st Revision
128-bit / 1080p
AMD Radeon RX 4552nd Revision
AMD Radeon RX 4501st Revision
Radeon 4XXTIER 6
128-bit / 1080p
AMD Radeon 4652nd Revision
AMD Radeon 4601st Revision
128-bit / 1080p
AMD Radeon 4552nd Revision
AMD Radeon 4501st Revision
AMD Radeon 4452nd Revision
AMD Radeon 4401st Revision

Source: PCGamesHardware

Comment Policy
  1. Comments must be written in English and should not exceed 1000 characters.
  2. Comments deemed to be spam or solely promotional in nature will be deleted. Including a link to relevant content is permitted, but comments should be relevant to the post topic. Discussions about politics are not allowed on this website.
  3. Comments and usernames containing language or concepts that could be deemed offensive will be deleted.
  4. Comments complaining about the post subject or its source will be removed.
  5. A failure to comply with these rules will result in a warning and, in extreme cases, a ban. In addition, please note that comments that attack or harass an individual directly will result in a ban without warning.
  6. VideoCardz has never been sponsored by AMD, Intel, or NVIDIA. Users claiming otherwise will be banned.
  7. VideoCardz Moderating Team reserves the right to edit or delete any comments submitted to the site without notice.
  8. If you have any questions about the commenting policy, please let us know through the Contact Page.
Hide Comment Policy