AMD Radeon Rx 400 series are codenamed Arctic Islands

Published: 27th Jan 2015, 10:11 GMT

According to SweClockers, Radeon Rx 400 series, currently expected in 2016, will be codenamed Arctic Islands.

Pirate Islands to be succeeded by Arctic Islands

While Radeon Rx 300 series still remain a mystery, first rumors about Radeon Rx 400 series already start to appear.

Radeon 300 series are codenamed Pirate Islands. For the past few years each generation is codenamed after distinct  geographical area. We had Southern Islands, Sea Islands and Volcanic Islands. After Pirate Islands, the next generation of GPU architecture, Arctic Islands will follow.

We do not know if the Arctic Islands codename is correct, but if it is, then I hope there is more here than just marketing decision. Will Arctic Islands bring a new quality of cooling solutions to Radeon family? Well, in 2016 we will be expecting 16/14nm FinFet chips, much more power efficient that current 28nm silicons, so there’s still a lot to be done in this regard.

Radeon Series codenames:

  • 2012 — Radeon HD 7000 — Southern Islands
  • 2013 — Radeon HD 8000 — Sea Islands
  • 2013 — Radeon Rx 200 —— Volcanic Islands
  • 2015 — Radeon Rx 300 —— Pirate Islands
  • 2016 — Radeon Rx 400 —— Arctic Islands

Wrangel XT, New Siberian XT, what sounds best? Here’s the full list of potential candidates. Bear Island sounds like a good candidate for flagship GPU. Here’s a gif to show you what to expect (there’s a broken engineering sample in the background).


Source: SweClockers

by WhyCry

Previous Post
NVIDIA updates GeForce GTX 970 specifications to 56 ROPs after reports of 3.5GB issue
Next Post
Colorful Announces its GeForce GTX 960 Lineup

Back to Top ↑